World Book Night Giveaway

My World Book Night stash

My World Book Night stash

It’s World Book Night! The day when all of us book nerds get to share our love of reading with THE WORLD! This is my third year as a giver, and this time I selected the book, The Dog Stars by Peter Heller. It’s a beautiful post-apocalyptic story of the physical trials and somewhat existential inner conflicts of a lone pilot named Hig, and what happens when he follows a radio transmission igniting the bleak hope that there might still be people in the world who don’t want to kill you on sight.

 

This, my friends, is the book I will spread far and wide. Some will go to a group of homeless folk I have given to every year, via a friend who works at the fantastic soup kitchen, Iron Gate. Another handful will be given to Youth Services of Tulsa, also one of my regular recipients. The rest will go to random unsuspecting strangers, who will look at me suspiciously as I try to hand them something free and wonderful with no strings attached. Such is the joy and the fun of World Book Night.

Giveaways for My Blog Readers

But one copy of The Dog Stars, of course, will go to one of you, my trusty readers, because you’re awesome and you deserve it. How do you get to be the lucky recipient of such fantastic literature?  Just tell me in the comments about your favorite story growing up; something you feel changed your view of the world, something you’ve kept with you all your life since. I will select a comment at random and announce the winner here on this blog. The winner will then have seven (7) days to provide me with an address so I can pop your new book in the mail to you.

And, in the spirit of the day, I am also making my short story, Midway, FREE for download today on Amazon. Anyone and everyone can have this one on their Kindle for absolutely nothing, because it’s World Book Night and I love spreading the love. All that I ask is, if you read my story, spread the news and share it with others. And, if you are so inclined, tell Amazon what you thought of it. These reader reviews are so helpful to us indie authors. Your words matter to us as much as we hope our words matter to you.

And now I am off to pass out paperbacks like a benevolent book faerie! Happy World Book Night!

About akfrancis

I write fiction, drink coffee, herd kids and furry creatures, and try to make the world a little better than I found it.
This entry was posted in Giveaway, Midway, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to World Book Night Giveaway

  1. papercrain says:

    Growing up, my fav book was Sabriel. It added magic and confidence to my life.

  2. akfrancis says:

    papercrain, I have never read nor heard of Sabriel before your comment, but I found a description of it on Goodreads, and now I am utterly intrigued. This is definitely going on the list! (The fact that it made your life magical really sealed the deal, though.)

    Thank you so much for your comment on my little baby blog here! This means, of course, you win! I’ll make a more official post in the next day or two to announce your winning a copy of The Dog Stars by Peter Heller. However, if you’d like to go ahead and message me a mailing address where I can send it to you, I can get it sent out asap! It’s a great read. I promise, you won’t be disappointed.

    Once you read it, let me know what you think! Just because I’m a book nerd, and talking to people who have read the books you’ve read and loved is pretty much the greatest thing ever.

  3. papercrain says:

    Thank you! I’m excited to win – I’ve been wanting to read The Dog Stars. I think that I might have a copy of Sabriel to send to you if you want it!

  4. papercrain says:

    p.s. email address? I’m at emilyecrain@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

