The Problem with Fandoms (a/k/a The Objectification of Sam Heughan)

A fantastically well-written post by my dear friend and talented writer, Terri Wallace, about good-geeking vs. objectification, and what happens when the room full of fangirls (or boys) essentially becomes a mob. A proud geek myself, this made me want to stand up and cheer.

The Word Peddler

Fandoms rock. You know what rocks even more? Respectful fandoms. Fandoms that don’t have a sense of entitlement. Fandoms that don’t objectify. Fandoms that aren’t snide and snarky.

I am a proud fan-girl. I binge watch The Walking Dead. I eagerly try to convert others into Sherlockians. Somewhere there is a belt with a notch for every friend I have turned into a Whovian. I will talk Outlander all day long (and often do talk about it all day–to anyone who will listen, and many who don’t). So, when I find others who are equally obsessive, it’s like finding a kindred soul…except when it isn’t.

There is a dark underbelly to the fandoms. One which I didn’t really see until it stared back at me from my Facebook feed. Eager Outlander that I am, I recently joined several groups on Facebook: Other people who have read the books and loved…

View original post 829 more words

About akfrancis

I write fiction, drink coffee, herd kids and furry creatures, and try to make the world a little better than I found it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

